MINUTES POINTE COUPEE PARISH POLICE JURY SPECIAL MEETING May 19, 2016

The Pointe Coupee Parish Police Jury met in special session at 5:30 p.m. Tuesday, May 19, 2016, at the Courthouse Annex in the Police Jury Meeting Room, New Roads, Louisiana.

President Cornell Dukes called the meeting to order and directed Secretary Gerrie Martin to call the roll:

 PRESENT: Messrs. Mitch Langlois, Gordon Taylor, Mrs. Melanie Bueche, Messrs. Stephen Smith, Kyle Olinde, Justin Cox, Glenn Cline, Edward Bazile, Kurt Jarreau and Cornell Dukes. Arrived after roll call: Mr. Anthony Hurst.
ABSENT: Mr. Charles Watkins.

15 MINUTES OF PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were no public comments.

PROPOSED EXECUTIVE SESSION--TO DISCUSS POTENTIAL LITIGATION OF A CHALLENGE TO THE DETENTION CENTER CONTRACT BY THE SHERIFF

Motion by Mr. Jarreau and seconded by Mr. Langlois:

RESOLVED, That the Police Jury convene in executive session at 5:35 p.m. to discuss a potential litigation of a challenge to the Detention Center contract by the sheriff.

The President called for a roll call vote that resulted as follows:

YEAS: Messrs. Langlois, Taylor, Mrs. Bueche, Messrs. Smith, Olinde, Cox, Cline, Bazile, Jarreau and Dukes.

NAYS: None.

ABSENT: Messrs. Watkins and Hurst.

On a vote of 10-0-2, the motion carried.

Motion by Mr. Cox and seconded by Mr. Jarreau:

RESOLVED, That the Police Jury return to open session at 8:02 p.m.

Unanimously carried.

As a result of executive session, the following resolutions were offered:

Motion by Mr. Cox and seconded by Mrs. Bueche:

RESOLVED, That Juror Justin Cox, Treasurer Becky Mayeux, CPA Jacob Waguespack be authorized to meet with representatives of the Sheriff's Office on Tuesday, May 24, 2016 at 9:00 a.m. to discuss finances of the Detention Center.

Unanimously carried.

Motion by Mr. Jarreau and seconded by Mrs. Bueche:

RESOLVED, That CPA Jacob Waguespack be authorized to research firms with expertise to exam the operations of the Detention Center.

Unanimously carried.

Motion by Mr. Cox and seconded by Mr. Olinde, the meeting adjourned at 8:03 p.m.

Gerrie P. Martin Secretary Cornell T. Dukes President